Saturday, October 27, 2007

Is Top Digger Hosting Malware, or is Google unfairly 'Burying' Him?


Self-proclaimed "Social Media Maven," top digg user, and blogger, Muhammad Saleem is a forced to be reckoned with on Digg.com. He regularly has numerous stories on the homepage of digg- almost on a daily basis. He' part of a weekly podcast, the drill down, and as one of digg's unofficial top 3 submitters, he's literally directing hundreds-of-thousands of eye balls in web traffic per week.

I've followed "msaleem" on digg.com and netscape's social new site, propeller, where he is a paid member of the community. He consistently submits popular content and is an active and high profile participant and contributor in the social ecosystem of many of these bookmarking communities.

I was therefore very surprised when I googled him to find out that Google's search says Muhammad's site will literally be harmful to my computer and won't even allow me to click through to his blog! I've visited Mu's site numerous times in the past. I have never wondered about my privacy, safety, or security in doing so. However, at least according to Google anyway , I should be concerned. Considering the number of other visitors and digg users that likely have visited it, I think perhaps we all should be, at least until Muhammad comes forward, or the issue is cleared up.

Which leads me to this: I have contacted Muhammad on pownce about this 2 days ago, and he still hasn't responded. I'll update if he does. In the meantime, if anyone out there is a web expert and safely can attest to the veracity of Google's finding (or lack thereof) and the safety Mu's site, I'd definitely want to hear about that as well.

Complete Update From Muhammad on Pronet Advertising

Update 2 - 10/29: I've heard from another webmaster, that this is something that has happened by mistake before. I find that to be troubling, especially when it comes from Google. If certainty is in doubt, Google really needs to take the site/result out the index instead of labeling it like this. The lack of specific information as to what the alleged badware is, is very frustrating too.

Update 3 - 10/29 10:17 PM, cst: A friend emailed me that they think there is something running on this site. Upon clicking through from a bloglines reader, their My Avast software popped up virus alerts. Still lacking complete details, but be careful. There are two kinds of viral content and this is one you don't want.

Final Update: See the linked Update from Muhammad above regarding what happened and how it's been fixed. It turns out that his index.php file was hacked and there was in fact some malicious code there (a Javascript Trojan from what some vistors could discern) It's more important than ever to make sure your systems are secure and up-to-date. As we increasingly put our lives online, and the dark hackers get ever more sophisticated, we are constantly at risk. Look for more posts on security to follow.

5 comments:

Mr. BabyMan said...

I've contacted him & he's aware of the situation and is looking into it.

spinchange said...

Thank you for updating, Andy. Mu is totally welcome to comment here too. I just want to know what's going on. I've never seen anything like this for a SERP on a fellow bookmarker - let alone for one as prolific as Muhammad.

zaibatsu said...

Mu. is a really good friend of mine, I've know him for a while now. We work together on our weekly podcast at thedrilldown.com I can't imagine that his personal blog would host any malware or nasty suprises. We (Andy, Mu. and I) try really hard to stay above the fray. Moneyu for posts, business deals with larger companies to promote content ect.

Quoting him: " no idea man, i put in a request to google to have it fixed"

I'll put my Digg rep and any street cred on the line to fully support the guy and say he just doesn't do this shit period.

spinchange said...

Mutual friends in the Digg Community, I hope it's understood that this isn't intended to be a personal attack on Muhammad.

It's good netiquette to warn of malware & viruses- even when they're unintentionally in someone's site.

I gave Muhammad the benefit of the doubt by messaging him and waited for a few days for a response but heard nothing back at all.

But all accounts, this doesn't appear to be a case of Muhammad's blog just getting reported by someone, *Google* has *tested* his site and made this determination. Try to search google.com for Muhammad Saleem and click through on his blog.

I think we can agree that that's pretty messed up.

Someone said said to me that, 'when this blows over for Mu, he'll get more traffic because of it.' If there's nothing going on, I truly hope that's the case for him, because this is a hell of a lot worse than having your "page rank" dropped!

I respect and admire the loyalty towards Muhammad, but this is "Google hatin' the playa," not me. That's some f*ed up social news in our world -especially if it's not true.

Muhammad Saleem said...

Hey buddy,

Sorry for not getting in touch on Pownce, I rarely ever visit that site.

This is a post I just put up on my site (pasting here so you don't have to visit the site itself):

"hi everyone, just wanted to quickly point out (as i am getting on a flight in a few hours) that i am aware that google is mad at me for some reason and thinks that my site will harm your computer. i have contacted them about this and am waiting for their response.

i have no idea why google thinks this and i assure you that i’m doing no such thing (at least not intentionally) and am looking into this further. thanks to everyone who pointed this out to me."

muhammad.